PH610/710-2E (2009 Fall) Course Schedule

This is only a tentative schedule. If any change should happen, this page will be updated accordingly.
Last modified: Aug. 16, 2009


- no title specified
Date Chapter Topics Subsections Notes Homework HW Due
Aug 17 (Tue) 0 General Remarks   View    
Aug 19 (Thu) 1 Survey of the Elementary Principles 1.1-1.3 Additional Problems 125 8/28 (Sat) 12PM
Aug 24 (Tue) 1.4-1.6 (8)9,  15,  16
Aug 26 (Thu) 2 Variational Principles and Lagrange's Equations 2.1-2.3   513 9/24 (Fri) 12PM
Aug 31 (Tue 2.4-2.5   1820
Sep 02 (Thu) 2.6-2.7   2123
Sep 07 (Tue) Problems Solving        
Sep 09(Thu) 3 The Central Force Problem 3.1-3.3   11131923 10/4 (Mon) 12PM
Sep 14 (Tue) 3,4-3.6  
Sep 16 (Thu) 3.7-3.9  
Sep 21 (Tue) Problems Solving        
Sep 23 (Thu) 6 Oscillations 6.1-6.3   1112 10/8 (Fri) 12PM 
Sep 28 (Tue) 6.4-6.6  
Sep 30 (Thu) Problems Solving        
Oct 05 (Tue)   The Hamiltonian Equation of Motion 8.1-8.3   1519202630 11/6 (Thu) 12PM 
Oct 07 (Thu) 8.4-8.6  
Oct 12 (Tue) 1-3,6 In-class Midterm Exam        
Oct 14 (Thu)   Fall Break        
Oct 19 (Tue) 9 Canonical Transformation 9.1-9.3   0423242830 11/11 (Thu) 12PM 
Oct 21 (Thu) 9.4-9.5  
Oct 26 (Tue) 9.6-9.7  
Oct 28 (Thu) 9.8-9.9  
Nov 02 (Tue) Problems Solving        
Nov 04 (Thu) 10 Hamilton-Jacobi Theory and Action-Angle Variables10.1-10.2      
Nov 09 (Tue) 10.6      
6,9,10 Take-home Midterm Exam (due at 12:00PM on Nov. 16)       
Nov 11 (Thu) 11 Nonlinear Dynamics/Chaos 11.1-11.4      
Nov 16 (Tue) 11.5-11.7      
Nov 18 (Thu) 11.8-11.9      
Nov 23 (Tue)Problems Solving    
Nov 25 (Thu) Thanksgiving Holiday    
Nov 30 (Tue) Comprehensive Problems Solving    
Dec 02 (Thu) Closing Remarks    
AllTake-home final exam begins (due at 12:00PM on Dec. 9)Comprehensive