PH469-00 Direct Reading (2016 Fall) Course Schedule

This is only a tentative schedule. If any change should happen, this page will be updated accordingly.
Date Section Topics Tutor Homework
Aug 29 (Mon) 1.1-2.5 Brief Review of Newtonian Mechanics R. Kawai  12
Aug 31 (Wed) 3.1-3.3.3 Postulates of Special Relativity C. Chandler  1
Sep 05 (Mon)
Labor Day

Sep 07 (Wed) 3.3.4-3.3.6 Space-time Diagram C. Chandler  1
Sep 12 (Mon) 3.4.1-3.4.6 Lorentz Transformation D. George 1
Sep 14 (Wed) 3.4.7-3.5 Minkowsky Metric D. George
Sep 19 (Mon) 3.6 Four Vectors G. Payne 1
Sep 21 (Wed) 4.1-4.3 Remannian Manifold G. Payne
Sep 26 (Mon) 5.1-5.3 Contravariant Vectors and One-Forms D. Cooper 1
Sep 28 (Wed) 5.4-5.5 Tensor Transformation D. Cooper 1
Oct 03 (Mon) 6.1-6.3 Connection Coefficients C. Allison 12
Oct 05 (Wed) 6.4-6.5 Parallel Transport C. Allison 12
Oct 10 (Mon) 6.6-6.7 Remannian Curveture Tensor T. Forrest 1
Oct 12 (Wed) 7.1-7.2 Three Principles of General Relativity T. Forrest
Oct 17 (Mon) 7.3-7.4 Geodesics C. Chandler 1
Oct 19 (Wed) 7.5 Energy-Momentum Tensor C. Chandler
Oct 24 (Mon) 7.6-7.7 Einstein Field Equations D. George 1
Oct 26 (Wed) 8.1-8.5 Newtonian Limit D. George
Oct 31 (Mon) 9.1-9.3 Schwarzschild Metric 1 G. Payne 1
Nov 02 (Wed) 9.4.1-9.4.4 Schwarzschild Metric 2 G. Payne 1
Nov 07 (Mon) 9.4.5-9.4.6 Schwarzschild Metric 3 D. Cooper 1 matlab
Nov 09 (Wed) 9.4.7-9.4.9 Schwarzschild Metric 4 D. Cooper
Nov 14 (Mon) 10.1-10.3 Black Hole 1 C. Alison 1
Nov 16 (Wed) 10.4-10.5 Black Hole 2 C. Alison 1
Nov 21 (Mon)
Thanksgiving Break

Nov 23 (Wed)
Nov 28 (Mon) 11.1-11.3 Cosmology 1 T. Forrest
Nov 30 (Wed) 11.4.1-11.4.4 Friedmann Equation T. Forrest 1
Dec 05 (Wed) 11.4.5-11.5 Various Models D. Cooper
Dec 07 (Wed) 12 Gravitational Waves C. Chandler matlab